September 20, 2024, 02:13:14 AM

Author Topic: Robert isint bringing as many basses out on tour  (Read 4242 times)

MAJOR METAL

• Contributors
  • Sky Captain
    • View Profile
Robert isint bringing as many basses out on tour
« on: July 21, 2010, 07:30:59 PM »
Its probably the fact that I am a bassist that I would observe this but I have noticed Robert since STP regrouped in 2008 hasn't brought out as many basses as he has in past tours. If you look back to the late 90's and up to the breakup in 2002 Robert played a bunch of different Schecters. Now he seems to just rotate between 2 Sunburst Model T's, although I saw him playing a Schecter P bass during Hickory Dichotomy on the Kimmel Show. He has some beautiful basses it would be great to see him mix it up more.  Just an observation. 
If you should die before me ask if you could bring a friend.
Pick a flower hold your breath and drift away.

Blue

• Your Friend
  • Contributors
  • Sky Captain
    • View Profile
Re: Robert isint bringing as many basses out on tour
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2010, 07:40:19 PM »
I think he's always just brought 2-3 basses on tour.

Back in the Core, Purple, and I believe Tiny Music, days, he just had two Schecter J basses he played the Blue on with the Phillies sticker and a white one.

Then starting in with No. 4, he started using two Schecter Model Ts and one of his old J basses (usually, the white one.)

Now I think he just uses two or three Model Ts. Except at KROQ's Weenie Roast and Jimmy Kimmel live, where he used a Schecter P-bass, and I believe two Model Ts as well.
Grab the hate and drown it out...

MAJOR METAL

• Contributors
  • Sky Captain
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2010, 09:12:50 AM »
Looks like Robert removed the EMG pickups that were in his schecters in favor of passive pickups, he also changed his amp rig from Eden to Ampeg, all of us bassist are allways looking for the perfect tone.

captainslovakia

• Pilot
  • (((in stereo where available)))