September 19, 2024, 04:28:15 PM

Author Topic: Kretz and Kinney and the like  (Read 6611 times)

wickedpilot

• Co-Pilot
  • STP is kewl.
    • View Profile
    • www.stonetemplecopilots.com
Re: Kretz and Kinney and the like
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2010, 09:25:40 PM »
Well I'm glad this topic came up, I agree with most of you on your stance with Eric.  But I have been playing drums professionally for about 15 years, and in that time of me playing I've learned the best musicians know when NOT to play. This means that you don't have to be a Joey Jordison of Slipknot to be considered good (the only reason I bring him up is because many think he is a god on drums, you wanna see a god on drums search for Thomas Lang on YouTube.)  I think Jordison is incredibly overrated as a drummer, and when you put an STP song in front of him to play, chances are it would sound like shit.  Kretz plays behind the beat a lot-he's lazy on purpose, that's his signature sound.  He also doesn't record with a click in the studio, nor does he play with one live.  His playing has a lot to do with the 'sonic' quality of STP's music.  
Also, I have always loved Chamberlain's playing, he is a VERY solid drummer with smooth, quick hands, and a good ear for parts.  Again, he's a drummer that only plays what is needed without feeling the need to "show off" like someone like Jordison.
"Let's all fake happiness, we'll put on a good show."
"They hold for ransom all the watered down truth's that splintered your-faith."

zackrandal

• Contributors
  • Pilot
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2010, 11:05:39 PM »
Quote from: "wickedpilot"